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Procedures

The State of Delaware carries a self-insured
automobile insurance policy that provides Personal
Injury Protection (PIP) Coverage

All vehicles registered in Delaware are required to
carry this coverage.

It is a form of no-fault automobile insurance which
provides payments of medical bills and lost wages
incurred within two years from the date of the
accident.
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Procedures

The State’s PIP limits are $25,000 per person/$300,000 per
accident.

An Auto Accident must be reported to the ICO within 24
hours.

The reports are submitted to the ICO from Fleet Services or
the employing Organization electronically via the ICO
website, by fax, or email.

Use the link below to access the Auto Accident Report form
located on the ICO website.


http://inscov.delaware.gov/forms/documents/auto_accident_LCE.pdf
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If the Auto Accident Report form notes that an
employee is injured, the ICO

e establishes a claim, generates a claim number, and
assigns the claim to an ICO Officer.

e mails a PIP Application form with statute information to
the employee.

 sends a copy of this letter and form to the employing
Organization’s Human Resources (HR) Department
contact.
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If the Auto Accident Report form notes that an

employee is injured and is missing time from work, the
ICO

e establishes a claim, generates a claim number, and
assigns the claim to an ICO Officer.

e mails a PIP Application form with statute information to
the employee.

e sends a copy of this letter and form to the employing
Organization’s HR Department contact.

e emails a Wage and Salary Verification Letter and Form
to the HR Department Contact.
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The HR representative for the employing Organization
must complete the Wage & Salary Verification Form
and return it to the ICO with a copy of the employee’s
PHRST pay advice closest to the date of the motor
vehicle accident.

Copies of any and all disability notes must be sent to
the ICO.

Before any medical or lost wage payments are made
under the PIP Claim, the completed PIP Application
Form must be received by the ICO.

The employee is charged sick or annual leave until the
ICO receives the completed PIP Application form and
PIP lost wage benefits are issued.

Once the average weekly rate is established by the ICO,
this rate stays the same for the life of the claim.



* For an employee who does not work overtime, the lost
wage benetfits are calculated as follows:

Net Wages

Plus Deductions

X 26

Gross Wage/Week

+52

Net Wage/Week

Net Wage/Day



* For an employee who consistently works overtime
(OT), in addition to calculating the base wages, the
ICO has to calculate the OT wages as follows:

OT Wages _

(26 weeks prior to date of loss)

Gross OT Wages/Week
x 80%

Net OT Wages/Week

Net OT Wages/Day



The ICO provides a copy of the Wage Calculation
Worksheet and a copy of the Payment Voucher to the
HR contact of the employing Organization.

An attorney or an employee can request for benetits to
be paid under both the PIP and Workers’
Compensation claims.

e The most common request is for the Workers’
Compensation claim to pay all the medical bills and 66
2/3 of the wages while PIP pays the difference between
both wage benefits.

The Human Resources Department recoups the PIP
payments from the employee through payroll
deductions.
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