


 Aprotection carried on all Delaware
registered vehicles. Title 21§2118

By law minimum coverage is $15,000 for
one person and $30,000 for all persons
injured in any one accident.

« State of Delaware limits are 29/300

* This coverage applies to each occupant of
the Delaware registered vehicle




 An auto accident should be reported to the
Insurance Goverage office within 24 hours

 The auto accident form can be located on
the Insurance Goverage Wehsite or he
obtain from Fleet Services or Insurance
Goverage Office




Why do we pay PIP?

* Under case law PIP IS primary and workers’
comp IS secondary

 The person was injured in a automobile




- PIP application and Statute letter are sent
out to the employee and a carbon copy Is
forwarded to the HR Department

* Statute letter states there is a 2 years
limitation.

* The PIP application Is needed hefore a
claim can he considered for payment



Wage and Salary Verification

 Wage and Salary verification formis
needed if an employee IS losing time.

 Acony of the check register and disability
slins are to he forward to the Insurance
Goverage Office




 Wages are NET wages.

— Net plus deductions x 26 divided by 92 = AWW
— Nolimit.

 You recoup just like comp

 You charge sick/annual leave just like
comp

- Salary supplement just like comp




How do you know what's heen
Paid?

 Acopy of the Payment Woucher Is faxed to
the HR Dept so you can do the recoup.




What PIP does not Pay

* Does not pay permanency
 Does not pay mileage




Work Comp/PIP combination

 An attorney or employee can request the
henefits to he paid hetween hoth programs
— Example:

 Meds under W/C Wages under PIP

- Meds and wages under W/G difference paid under
PIP




QUESTIONS

Thank You



